When I think of summer, I think of my library. Not spending a the hot afternoons curled up in a corner reading, but of the summer reading programs. I loved going and picking up the bookmark for me to fill out after I finished a book. And although I didn’t spend hours at the library reading, I did spend plenty of time in a large comfy chair in my living room. There was natural light pouring in and little rainbows covered the room at a certain time of day when the sun shone through the stain glass window just right. I spent so much time in that chair that there were times when my mom had to tell teachers (during school) and librarians that I was actually reading as much as I said.

Mornings were filled with Magic Treehouse and Harry Potter. I loved that time I got to spend reading, and turning in the filled bookmark to get a small prize and a better chance at the big prize filled me with pride. It didn’t matter to me what the theme was of the program, I just loved the feeling of completing something.

So, why don’t we have them for adults? Here is a list of reasons that adults could benefit from a summer reading program

  • Although most adults have full-time jobs, it sets summer apart and reminds them that it is a time for fun.
  • Who doesn’t love little prizes and the feeling of accomplishing something. It can turn your day from not so great, to conquering the world.
  • It encourages people to make time for reading, even if it is just a few books a summer.
  • You could start a book club to go along with it. (Although you can have a book club without the program)
  • Reading is a great stress-reliever.
  • Coloring in the small bookmarks is also a great stress-reliever.
  • The adults can get themselves to the library easier.
  • It encourages more people to use the library. (probably bringing in more money for them)
  • Recommendation lists could help adults choose the “must-read” books of the summer/life.
  • Reading helps expand knowledge, and we can all use more of that.
  • You could read with your kids and both get to color in bookmarks.
  • Reducing the size of the “To-Be-Read” list
  • Reading is great, and we should all have an excuse to read more.

What are your opinions? Do you have something to add to the list? Maybe you don’t agree at all, and adults can challenge themselves to read during the summer. I want to hear!

3 comments

  1. I personally love the idea of a summer reading list and in fact, I would advocate for it. I participate in the GoodReads Reading Challenge and it is so much fun to see what your friends are reading and set goals and see your achievements become reality.
    I think everyone should make more time for reading. Even if it’s just during the summer or listening to an audiobook in the car.

  2. Good news! Many public libraries already run reading programs for adults, but most of them that I’ve seen in MN run during the middle of winter (January to March) when adults are more likely to be stuck inside and kids are in school. Which makes sense for adults–SRP runs in the summer because one of the major goals is prevent summer brain drain. In winter reading programs, adults might write short book reviews in exchange for a prize. Or, they might get to enter their name in a drawing for a larger prize for every so many books they read.

    Hot Reads for Cold Nights – Lake Agassiz Regional Library
    Winter Jackets at Ramsey County Library
    Winter Jackets at Saint Paul Public Library
    Google search results for adult reading programs in libraries

Leave a comment